Tech and STEM Leader Award Nominations for 2022 are now open!

The GTA recognizes outstanding achievement among our membership each year from October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2022.  Nominations are now open, and must be submitted by November 15th to be considered. Our categories are:

Tech Leader of the Year, which recognizes the outstanding achievement over the last year on the part of an individual or company that principally provides technology products, services, or support in the Columbia River Gorge. All technology sectors are eligible, as are sectors not traditionally characterized as technological if the individual/ company has an extraordinary commitment to innovation or using technology. 

Our 2021 winner was Columbia Gorge Community College’s Career and Technical Education Department, for pioneering new ways to provide our current and future workforce with the skills it needs for successful employability in industries across the Gorge. The incredible and tireless work from everyone in the department helped make the opening of the Regional Skills Center in Fall 2021 a reality.  Additional Technology Leader of the Year finalists honored were: Nick Anderson from Overwatch Imaging and Mary Kramer from CGCC.

Nominate Your Choice for:   GTA 2022 Tech Leader Award Here


STEM Education Leader of the Year recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to STEM (science, tech, engineering, and math) education in the Columbia River Gorge over the last year.  Nominations should describe why (with specificity) the person is being nominated for such recognition.

Our 2021 winner was Amy Foley, HRVHS Computer Science Teacher, recognized for her hard work in developing the first official sequence of Computer Science courses ever offered at the High School. Amy engaged in rigorous coursework to develop her own skills and knowledge in order to be able to offer the CS programs to students and her personal initiative has opened countless opportunities to the students at HRVHS.  Additional STEM Educator of the Year finalists honored were:  Michael Glane from Hood River Valley High School, James Pytel from CGCC, David Scharfenberg from Hood River Middle School, and Jamie Sowell from South Wasco County School District. 

Nominate Your Choice for:  GTA 2022 STEM Leader Award Here 

Nominations must be received by 5 pm on November 15, 2022 to be considered.  The winners will be announced at the GTA’s Winter Party and Awards Ceremony.  Contact Kristyn with questions.